tv i say w/ ashley ray
ashley ray's mom gives donald glover advice
Ashley Ray's Mom Gives Donald Glover Advice
1
0:00
-9:27

Ashley Ray's Mom Gives Donald Glover Advice

TV reviews, TV opinions and also sometimes other opinions
1
Atlanta' S3E9 "Rich Wigga, Poor Wigga" Recap
A scene from “Rich Wigga, Poor Wigga,” Atlanta’s latest episode

I have been writing about Atlanta for a long time. Beyond that, my close friends and relatives will tell you that I have openly been a Donald Glover/Childish Gambino fan, even when it has been entirely embarrassing for me. This can’t be hard to believe, like Glover, I grew up feeling like the only black kid at a Sufjan concert. I faced the same taunts of “oreo” and “you talk white.” I was obsessed with 30 Rock and Community. That shit made me a very embarrassing mega fan very early:

Like I said: embarrassing. Please understand, it was the early oughts, it was a different time. People actually used Facebook. Anyway, I share this only to make it very clear: I have long understood the trauma Donald Glover is working through in his work. I am a fan, even when he makes clear missteps. In his later years, I think he has become a true Artiste, in the sense that he creates work he wants to be critiqued and discussed. And when it comes to Atlanta, well, he is also working with a room of talented and funny writers (and black, I see so many tweets assuming white people write Atlanta, but no, they don’t). Do I think a writer using misogynoir in a script makes the entire show guilty of hating black women? No. I think it’s more complicated than that (or I want to hope it is) and that’s why I keep watching.

I have, in fact, been incredibly impressed with Donald’s choices this season. I have loved these mostly standalone episodes where individual writers have had the opportunity to tell the story they want. That is rare af in television. So, when I got to “Rich Wigga, Poor Wigga",” an episode written and directed by Donald Glover whose description made it clear he was addressing the criticism he’s faced and brought up with himself in that weird one-on-one interview he did with himself where he was like “Why do I hate black women? No why do YOU hate black women??,” I was excited1:

I was ready to see what Donald had to say about all of this! And well, honestly? He didn’t have much to say! Is “Rich Wigga, Poor Wigga” one of Atlanta’s funniest episodes? Absolutely. I would expect nothing less from Glover. This shit is hilarious. It’s up there with the Katt Williams’ episode for me in terms of the show’s best. If someone asked me what episodes best summarize Atlanta, I would include this episode on the list. It not only encapsulates the show’s viewpoint, it is maybe Glover’s most personal and complete work. For those of us who’ve watched the evolution since I Am Just A Rapper and Mystery Team, I would point to “Rich Wigga, Poor Wigga” if someone asked me, “what is Donald Glover’s whole deal?”

And that’s not an insult, it just feels more like a disappointment. Because as funny as the episode is, the gag is revealed in the opening: Aaron is white because he knows how to leverage his whiteness against black people. The episode starts with him calling black kids monkeys. Case closed. This character’s “blackness” is never questioned because it was never there to begin with. A point Glover’s script is careful to highlight: this isn’t the story of a guy who finds his blackness, it’s just another guy who figures out how to become a wigga.

The episode also gets into the internal policing of blackness, but this part feels more like caricature and Donald’s insecurities more than anything else. When the episode finished, I knew I loved it, but I also couldn’t help but wonder how much better it could’ve been if Glover could move past the same pain we’ve heard about since he rapped about being called an oreo on Camp. It’s like everything about Donald - his skill, his vision, his craft - has evolved, except the narrative. We get it, man, you feel like you have to put on a fake version of black masculinity to meet the expectations of blackness that are forced on you. I don’t mean that in a dismissive way, I mean it in a “you are not alone” way. Donald, baby, we are right here with you.

It comes in all kinds of flavors, the “you talk white, you’re not really black because you listen to Ani DiFranco, you’re not really black because you’re gay, you’re not really black because of the way you dress” and it comes from all sides! Growing up, however, I was lucky enough to grow up with One of the World’s Best Moms. She did not choose to take on that responsibility, but when the World Council of Moms said she had to do it, she took on the challenge. When people made fun of me, that woman was the reason why I could usually turn it around and make someone cry in return. And, eventually, her guidance was why I was able to let that hurt go and realize it was just another thing that connected me to other black people.

After watching “Rich Wigga, Poor Wigga,” I wondered, what would my mom say to Donald Glover, who is clearly still grappling with this? What guidance would she have for him? So, when she did her Sunday morning call (which I think is mostly a check in to see if I started going to church again), I asked her to share a few words of wisdom.

Take a listen!

1

Oh, and I’m still split on the Kevin Samuels appearance. I recognized him immediately, but honestly, I was impressed by his performance. It reiterated to me how good that man was at acting and pretending. I don’t know if he actually believed a word he said, but he definitely knew he could get money and clout by saying it, which is probably more dangerous since he was right! Whether he believed it or not, he created a brand hating and criticizing black women and it got him on Atlanta!

Want more TV opinions like this? Well, this one is free, but sometimes they will cost you. Subscribe to the newsletter for free TV updates and premium advice from my mom sometimes:

Get 40% off for 1 year

What Else Is Ashley Ray Watching?

Here’s last week’s watch list:

Sunday

  • Winning Time (HBO) - This finale was everything I wanted as someone who only learned basketball is a real sport 10 weeks ago.

  • The Great North (FOX) - This show is incredible and recently had one of its gayest episodes yet! You need to watch. Julio Torres!

  • Bob’s Burgers (FOX) - Still firing on all cylinders after all these years, my god how do they do it?

  • Last Week Tonight (HBO) - See above comment.

  • Barry (HBO) - If Bill Hader doesn’t win an Emmy, I will riot. This season has been incredible so far.

  • Duncanville (FOX) - I forgot this show came back and got to binge three episodes at once, it was great. Imagine how much fun you’ll have binging three seasons if you haven’t watched yet.

  • Rich and Shameless (TNT) - This is a weird documentary series that did an episode on Girls Gone Wild and the Wu-Tang/Martin Shrelki thing. I don’t think it is well done, but I am watching it.

  • 90 Day Fiancé (Discovery+) - I mean, read my weekly reviews!

  • Undone (Prime Video) - I finally finished season two and I hope it gets renewed.

  • Outer Range (Prime Video) - I finished this awhile ago, y’all finally ready to talk about that hole?

Monday

  • The Girl From Plainville (Hulu) - RIP to a real one, this show has ended. What a ride.

  • Our Father (Netflix) - Baby God on HBO is a better documentary, but it’s insane that this has happened so many times that we have multiple documentary options on men who falsely inseminated their patients!

  • The Big Conn (AppleTV) - This documentary shouldn’t be as boring as it is. It only needed to be one episode.

Tuesday

  • Young Rock (NBC) - Randall Park also deserves an Emmy.

  • Mr. Mayor (NBC) - I’m very upset that this show was cancelled, season two has been INCREDIBLE. It really found its groove. They should move it to Peacock.

Wednesday

  • The Goldbergs (ABC) - We are still trucking, baby. This week, the dad sat in a chair with sunglasses on the whole time.

  • Home Economics (ABC) - I fucking love this show that fills the Single Parents-shaped hole in my heart.

Thursday

  • Grey’s Anatomy (ABC) - What the hell was that weed nonsense the last episode?! I am personally insulted!

  • The Flight Attendant (HBO) - When will she silence her phone?

  • Made For Love (HBO) - God, this show is so good. It moves slower this season, but keep going!

  • Hacks (HBO) - The girls are back in town and I’m so happy. Mommy Deborah Vance, hold me.

  • The Staircase (HBO) - This show is so good, but I am ready to write a piece on the ethics of that murder scene and these kinds of shows in general.

  • Girls5eva (Peacock) - The last episode about the father-daughter marriage had one of the highest laugh-per-second ratios I’ve ever seen in a script.

  • Welcome to Flatch (FOX)

  • Atlanta (FX) - Well, enough said.

  • Walker (CW) - I don’t watch this, but my niece is in it, so please watch it, they seem to be cancelling a lot of shows over there.

Friday

  • Ziwe (Showtime) - If you have the Showtime app, the new ep with Nicole Byer and Hannibal Buress is up and you should go watch it ASAP. I eagerly await the Hannibal clips hitting Twitter.

  • I Love That For You (Showtime) - I am loving every part of this goddamn show! It’s just fun and it’s giving me what I wanted from Life After Beth!

  • A Black Lady Sketch Show (HBO)

Saturday

  • Saturday Night Live (NBC) - It’s the Sarah Sherman-era and we are just LIVING IN IT, BABY!


Want me to write about a show that’s not listed above? Want me to write more about a show above? Want me to write about another show or something else entirely?! Subscribe to my Patreon to get access to full season or episode reviews that YOU make me write:

Subscribe to Patreon

1 Comment
tv i say w/ ashley ray
ashley ray's mom gives donald glover advice
a newsletter about tv reviews, tv opinions and also sometimes other opinions
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
ashley ray